The most popular online travel guide to Russia, since 2001.
 

Way to Russia Community and Forum


If you have a question or want to help someone, please, go to
Way to Russia Forum on our Facebook page.
 
We also invite you to join our Facebook community, where you can meet other travelers and read interesting news on topics ranging from visa regulations to culture and music.
 

 

We are currently moving the old forum to Facebook, so what you see below functions as an archive.

If you have a question, please, post it on
Way to Russia Facebook Discussions Page


 

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   ChatChat   Log inLog in 

Question about dealing with russian travel agencies

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Way to Russia Talk Lounge Forum Index -> Travel Advice (Practicalities)
Author Message
jvlepkowicz
Just Starting


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Question about dealing with russian travel agencies Reply with quote

I met someone through Elena's models.com. I began to talk to her through the website and then she offered me her cell phone number and I gave her mine. We regularly exchange texts and I call her every so often. I even sent her a flower to her residence to make sure she was real. I mentioned to her one day that I won't be in London much longer and that I'll be going to the states so she suggested that she come out to see me. She gave me the email address of a travel agency. I have been dealing with them directly. I sent them 1450 euros to cover costs for airlines, insurance and whatever else. Then I get a text from the girl early in the morning telling me that something urgent needs my attention. I get to work and check my email and she tells me that the agency said that she needs to have some sort of proof of having a bank account. she doesn't have a bank account so, like an idiot i send another $900 because that is what the agency said is required to forward to the UK embassy in moscow. has anyone in this forum dealt with a person named Elena Tsigler or an agency called

Big Travel company
Khakaskaya st.56
Abakan 655017
Republic of Khakasiay
Russia

I would appreciate any input and I'll try not to be too critical of your inputs. I did this to myself so I have to take this as a learning experience.
Back to top
Fire_Goddess
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought Elenas Models was a legit company!
Back to top
Kesha
Talk Show Host


Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 258
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's no wonder scamming is so prevalent!
Again, I am shaking my head in disbelief, hearing that someone has sent such big money to a complete stranger!

Did you research this "company" which you wired so many Euros?
Did you check with the British Embassy about this "regulation?"

Sorry for being so critical....it's just that I've not been a member here very long and you can't imagine how many times I've heard a similar scenario!
Back to top
vitalsigns
Lounge Wizard


Joined: 25 Dec 2004
Posts: 2784

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brick wall
Back to top
tuller
Talk Show Host


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:38 am    Post subject: Big Travel Agency Reply with quote

Brick wall Shame on you I think you have been visa scammed...I'm certain and was told that you could find Big Travel Agency on the scam sites.
Seems I remember reading something about it it another forum recently.

Tuller
Back to top
Fire_Goddess
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes but doesnt Elenas Models boast about being the real thing and hooking men up with ladies in person in Russia, on those tours?
Back to top
Kesha
Talk Show Host


Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 258
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fire_Goddess wrote:
Yes but doesnt Elenas Models boast about being the real thing and hooking men up with ladies in person in Russia, on those tours?



I dunno.
Back to top
jvlepkowicz
Just Starting


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried to find anything on the travel agency on the internet and I couldn't find anything.
Back to top
MrSpice
Lounge Wizard


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 3431

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jvlepkowicz: Seriously, do you have money to waste? Do you even realize how silly your posts looks to people here? You were obviously scammed.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Way to Russia Talk Lounge Forum Index -> Travel Advice (Practicalities) All times are GMT + 3 Hours
Page 1 of 1